These belgian domainnames have the biggest value for typosquatters
http://www.ovtdomainnames.com/index.php?entries=1&ext=be&sort=3 Try to find who is responsable for the domain You can use
http://www.dns.be/whois/ and type the names of the domains that you have found.
DNs.be will try not to intervene at all and in 2005 the person responsable for
dns.be wrote that the victims had to turn to a court for such issues and didn't had complain with
dns.be "Klachten betreffende domeinkaping worden best niet ingediend bij DNS BE. Op onze site staat wel de nodige info welke mogelijkheden er bestaan. In principe zijn er dit twee: ofwel via de gewone rechtbank, ofwel een zogenaamde alternatieve geschillenregeling via Cepina. Let wel, in beide gevallen moet je bepaalde rechten kunnen laten gelden op de domeinnaam in kwestie (internet.be claimen omdat je vage plannen hebt om een online winkel te beginnen volstaat dus echt wel niet)."
Meer info op:
http://www.dns.be/nl/home.php?n=356 http://www.cepina.be/NL/default.aspx?PId=122 Peter op 19 juli 2005 om 11:30
http://standaard.typepad.com/en_nu_even_ernstig/2005/07/typosquatting_e.html In 2005 before the start of this free .be domain madness campaign, the responsable minister for this issue, answered a question in the parliament about typosquatting.
http://www.dekamer.be/QRVA/pdf/51/51K0078.pdf The minister declares here that this is against the law in Belgium (26 june 2003) but there is no penalty foreseen in this law. That is why the Administration has done no research and no prosecution and that no-one has filed a complaint either. He says that there is no other choice than to go to the WIPO or use the arbitration that Cepina has set up together with
dns.be that is how it is done
http://www.cepina.be/NL/default.aspx?PId=24 that are the few that have done it
http://www.cepina.be/NL/default.aspx?PId=134 and this is the reason why (high cost)
http://www.cepina.be/NL/default.aspx?PId=125 AANTAL BETWISTE DOMEINNAMEN KOSTEN VAN DE PROCEDURE
1 tot 5 1.620,00 EUR
6 tot 10 2.110,00 EUR
meer dan 10 in overleg met CEPINA te bepalen De administratieve kosten van CEPINA zijn begrepen in deze bedragen. Deze administratieve kosten zijn aan de BTW onderworpen.
Try to sue the agent
http://www.domain-ethix.be/nl/Commission/composition.html even typosquatted
belgacom.be has a representative but according to the website there is no complaint since 2003 a reason for this is that the agents against which the complaints are, have not signed the code of conduct
http://www.dns.be/info/nl/agent/registered. At one hand you can only register .be names with agents that have signed this code of conduct but this is the world upside down. It should - especially in the Wild Wild Web - that to be an agent you MUST have signed this code of conduct (and even that is questionable becauce the judicial power of this is totally voluntary). and in the code of conduct is typosquatting implicit refused De agent zal geen 'voorraad' domeinnamen aanleggen om vervolgens de klant onder druk te kunnen zetten om de domeinnaam van zijn keuze bij hem aan te vragen tegen mogelijks exorbitante tarieven
some domain registrars have foreseen this and you can complain with them directly Bestellingen van domeinnamen via
gratisbe.be zijn onderworpen aan dezelfde voorwaarden als de andere hosting en domeinnaamdiensten van Stone Internet Services /
1-eurohost.com. Er zijn echter 2 uitzonderingen op deze voorwaarden: 1. Domeinnamen besteld in kader van de
dns.be actie zijn niet gebonden aan de opzegtermijn van 60 dagen. Deze worden niet stilzwijgend verlengd en worden enkel verlengd op vraag van de klant aan het overeengekomen tarief. 2. De domeinnamen mogen niet aangewend worden voor cybersquatting of domein warehousing.
http://www.gratisbe.be/voorwaarden.html It says that if the domainsquatting or for sale lookalike has been registered through them, they can act. I am not sure if each registrar has done this, but this is something you can check. But this is only if the .be domainname was used in the free campaign. If they pay for it, I am not sure that this would work although
DNS.Be should be able to refuse to register it because there is a complaint against the domainname. try using the law and according to their own procedures explained here for domain names that are more or less identical but which aren't enforced (yet)
http://www.dns.be/fr/DomainInfo/adrproc.htm french
http://www.dns.be/nl/DomainInfo/adrproc.htm dutch
http://www.dns.be/en/home.php?n=54 english Wet betreffende het wederrechtelijk registreren van domeinnamen
opgemaakt of de wetgever ook beoogde tegen typosquatting op te treden. cybersquatting et de la cyberpiracy, est le typosquatting.
http://www.internet-observatory.be/internet_observatory/pdf/legislation/cmt/law_be_2003-06-26_cmt_nl.pdf